340 Quick Mart Busted for Selling Beer to Minors – Again

A proprietor at the 340 Quick Mart in Berryville has been charged with selling beer to a minor. This is the second time since March, 2011 that  an employee at the establishment has been implicated in providing alcohol to underage buyers.

According to an arrest warrant filed in General District Court by the Clarke County Sheriff department, Mohammad S. Lone Kashmiri was arrested on May 30, 2011 for violating Virginia State code 4.1-304, a class 1 misdemeanor.

The 340 Quick Mart on North Buckmarsh Street has been implicated in the sale of alcohol to minors twice since March, 2011 - Photo Edward Leonard

According to the criminal complaint, on May 29 Clarke County deputy Mason assisted Clarke County deputy Thompson during a traffic stop. The deputies determined that the two occupants of the stopped vehicle were under 21-years-of-age and in possession of a 24-can case of beer.

Upon questioning  by deputy Mason the passenger of the vehicle is alleged to have admitted to that he had purchased the beer just prior to the traffic stop from the 340 Quick Mart located at 304 North Buckmarsh Street in Berryville.

Deputy Mason says that the vehicle passenger provided a detailed description of the store clerk who sold the beer to him and also offered to visually identify the clerk. Mason and the passenger then returned to the 340 Quick Mart.

Deputy Mason states in the complaint that after a few questions Mr. Lone Kashmiri admitted that he had sold the passenger the beer without checking the passenger’s identification. According to deputy Mason Lone Kashmiri stated that he did not perform the identification check because the purchaser “looked 25 years old.”

In March, 2011 a different clerk at the 340 Quick Mart was implicated in a similar incident involving sale of alcohol to minors.  Farman Ali of Berryville was charged by the Clarke County Sheriff’s Office for selling alcohol to persons less than 21 years of age.

In the more recent offense, Mr. Lone Kashmiri was arrested and then released on a $2000 unsecured bond. A hearing on the incident is scheduled for July 21st at 10:00 a.m. in Clarke County General District Court.

A Class 1 misdemeanor conviction can result in confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.

Comments

  1. Time to take the liquor license

  2. Tugs Dad says:

    I agree Sarge!

  3. Naked Truth says:

    And the cycle begins! The kids know where to go.

  4. RasputinSays says:

    The kudos to the police who seem to being doing their jobs admirably. Where are the courts and the VABC on this? This guy should not have a liquor license. Losing the privilege of selling beer (and the income) for a while may help him to make better decisions as to whom he should sell alcohol to.

    CDN Editor: CDN contacted Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control for comment on this story. Virginia ABC replied “We do not comment on criminal cases conducted by other law enforcement departments/agencies.”

  5. Embarassed says:

    How about not just cracking down on the minors with stiffer penalties to deter them and their friends from using alcohol or their suppliers but let’s make an example out of this guy. I don’t think the people who supply the alcohol should get a first time offender view from the courts. I don’t think it is that freaking hard to ask for an id. If you are afraid of offending someone then put a sign up that you card eveyone and follow it – problem solved.

  6. Mr Mister says:

    Inside of his store he keeps a photo of a woman who wrote him a bad check in the past .I guess he keeps it up there on his “wall of shame”. With two recent alcohol violations, shouldn’t we be shamming him? I guess it will take a fatality for the ABC to revoke his liquor license. What a shame.