Josephine School Community Museum Announces Scholarship Recipients

The Josephine School Community Museum will present its sixth annual scholarships to African-American graduates of Clarke County High School on Sunday, June 6 at 2:00, at the Museum.   Easton McDonald, President of the Winchester Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored people will give special remarks.   Mr. McDonald will also be present the Scholarship Certificates to the recipients.   The scholarships are provided to all African-American graduates who have been accepted to an accredited four-year college/ university.   The scholarship will be paid directly to the recipient’s university.   This year, $1,000 will be given this fall to the educational institutions for each of the four African-American graduates of CCHS, class of 2010 that have been accepted to a four-year university.

The 2010 scholarship recipients are:

  • Hilton N. Morgan   of Boyce, Virginia –   Shepherd University.
  • Jasmine M. Holmes of Berryville, Virginia – Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • Thomas A. Trapnell of Berryville, Virginia   – University of Virginia.
  • William E. Fox of Berryville, Virginia – Bridgewater College.

Dorothy P, Davis, Museum Board president, said:   “The Museum is proud to make this effort to assist African-American graduates of Clarke County High School in their pursuit of higher education at a four year university.”

If you have any questions, please call the Museum at 955-5512, Dorothy Davis at 304-229-4710, or Chuck Johnston at 955-5130.